Tutorial: Anthropologie-inspired letters

Anthropologie has unique and creative home decor…the zinc letters are drool-worthy but I didn’t want to spend $18 a letter! So I decided to make some myself!

The letters were on sale for $2, paint was $1.39 each and I already had a brush and the hanging strips. I spent around $9 total for this project.
But you could easily finish this project in less than $15 for all supplies and 3 letters…thats if you plan on spelling EAT like me 🙂

Supplies
12″ Paper mache letters from Joann
paint brush (a good brush helps!)
Black acrylic paint
Aluminum acrylic paint
3m hanging strips

I put down a few paper towels, got out my supplies and started painting the letters black (not the backside). Then I painted them silver but tried to make it look ‘worn’ so I brushed it lightly up and down to give it that vintage look. Then I just let them dry for a few hours and attached them to the wall using the hanging strips. The letters are very light so I didn’t need to use nails.

Here is what Anthro’s look like:

Here is my version:

This is what it looks like when I started:

A few other angles:

 Love the end result!

2 thoughts on “Tutorial: Anthropologie-inspired letters

Leave a Reply

